Angel of Peace
Visit Us! We love to show off our beautiful building. Tours are offered by appointment and are generally available Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays. Please call the office 718-624-5466 or contact Garnett Losak (email@example.com).
The First Unitarian Congregational Society of Brooklyn worships in a historic building designed by noted 19th century architect and Unitarian, Minard Lafever
. It was erected in 1844 in historic Brooklyn Heights and has been described as “perhaps Lafever’s most sensitively designed Gothic Revival
building”. Since its erection, it has marked the corner of Pierrepont Street and Monroe Place, making it a true “landmark”. The sanctuary boasts a legacy of Tiffany stained glass window, large Tiffany mosaic and beautiful rose window over the front porch.
Angel of Light Mosaic
A Hutchings organ with more than 2000 pipes, was rebuilt in 1999 by Mann and Trupiano, and supports the congregation’s music program.
The Donald W. McKinney chapel, built in 1866, adjoins the Sanctuary building. It is a multi-purpose space used for summer services, concerts, lectures and social gatherings. The church campus also includes 48 Monroe Place which houses church offices and classrooms and 50 Monroe Place, another multi-purpose building.
Since its beginnings, The First Unitarian Church has opened its doors to the wider community for weddings, child blessings, memorial services and other rites of passage and providing meeting and performance spaces for numerous ongoing and ad hoc non-profit and self-improvement groups.
For rental information, please call the church office at 718-624-5466. For information on weddings, memorial services and baby dedications, contact Nicole Tuszysnski (firstname.lastname@example.org).